Family will not accept it...

Depression/anxiety may have touched your family, your friends, yourself; what helps you to deal with it? Sharing is caring!

Moderators: windsong, BlueGobi, Moderators, Astrid

cmakin

Family will not accept it...

Postby cmakin » Thu Aug 09, 2012 7:08 am

Hi,
I'm new so...be kind :)
I've been battling with depression & anxiety for 8 years now (since being 12, I am now 20) yet my closest family members have never accepted it, saying I'm fine and I will grow out of it,
I've been to the doctors who told me I was suffering from major depression sent me to councilling until being 17 when I decided it was no longer doing any use, And earlier this year I was put on anti-depressants which seemed to help and I am still taking them, From being 13 - 18 I OD'd several times being taken into hospital the final time and never attempted since.
My family are aware of all this except for the anti-depressants, except for my grandpa who I told and he shouted at me telling me there is no need for me to be on them, I get my good days and my bad days but when I do get my bad days I need my family around me but they get angry saying there is nothing wrong and I'm being soft and need to snap out of it.
How do I get them to accept I that I'm not okay and sometimes I just need them to lean on or just a phone call?
It's driving me insane not having thier support :(
Any advice?
Thankyou.

alyssaswoon

Postby alyssaswoon » Mon Oct 15, 2012 11:47 am

My family sound pretty similar to yours actually.
My parents (and most of my extended family) believe that no one needs medication, you can always get through whatever it is on your own; whether it be a mental illness or physical pain.