I'm glad I found this site

Introductions and welcomes.

Moderators: windsong, BlueGobi, Moderators, Sunlily92, Astrid

cathyb61

I'm glad I found this site

Postby cathyb61 » Thu Mar 10, 2011 11:40 pm

I'm new here and I'm so grateful to have found this site. I have MDD and Anxiety. My medication hasn't been working and I've had quite a set back. I'm seeing my psychiatrist tomorrow for a new assessment and a change in my medication.
I don't think that any of the other medications ever really worked as well as it should have, but I thought that if it helped a bit the rest was up to me. Through the help of my therapist I've learned that; that isn't how it should be.
I'm hoping that by signing up here I'll be able to learn more about depression and how to live with it.
I've been trying to understand this on my own by researching. That hasn't been working for me.
I'm a student and have had to take a leave from school because I haven't been functioning very well. My family tries their best and is very supportive. I try to explain what goes on in my head and because they haven't experienced it... try as they might they don't really get it.
I also don't say very much to them because I sometimes feel like a burden and I don't want to weigh them down.
I have to have faith that in time, I'll be free of this feeling of being encased in Plexiglas where I can see the world going on around me, and try as I might I just can't get in there and be a full participant.
I think of all these wonderful creative things I want to do and even go so far as to purchase the necessary tools to create them but then end up not completing anything. I use to create so many wonderful things. I want to make plans and actually follow through with them. I want to be that person again that really enjoyed life and participated in it.
Again, I'm grateful to have found this board.

Echo13

Postby Echo13 » Sat Mar 12, 2011 2:37 am