Coping with a depressed spouse

Shared experiences of life, and the path that has led you to where you are.

Moderators: windsong, BlueGobi, Moderators, Astrid

kali101

Coping with a depressed spouse

Postby kali101 » Mon Apr 12, 2010 11:10 pm

I am new to this, so not sure if I'm writing where I should be.

I have been married for 12 years, with my wife for 20. We have 2 little girls. I believe within the last 6 months, she has severe depression.
We saw my doctor and a counselor, and they both said she is depressed. I have a few friends in the medical field and they agree also. She has most of the signs.
I guess what confuses me, is she told me she just fell out of love with me and her feelings changed. Is this her true feelings, or the depression, is she pushing me away. Mind you, 6 month ago we moved into a new house and she told me how happy she was, and how much she loved me. There is no 3rd party. She has never been unhappy before. We have(had) a great marriage, never fight, and get along great.
She has become very selfish. I tell her we have to try to work it out for the kids and she just says she is sick of living unhappy, she wants to be happy.
Her brother is a nurse, and he agrees. He said it sounds like depression.
She has been on wellbutrin for 3 weeks and it's doing nothing for her.
I don't know if it's to early or not the right medicine..
This is really hard.
Is there anybody who has been depressed, or a spouse coping with a depressed spouse who can give any advice?

Thanks
RP

xn728

PLEASE STAY STRONG

Postby xn728 » Tue Apr 13, 2010 1:34 am