Should I Tell Them?

Shared experiences of life, and the path that has led you to where you are.

Moderators: windsong, BlueGobi, Moderators, Astrid

RedCardinal04

Should I Tell Them?

Postby RedCardinal04 » Sun Feb 02, 2020 10:14 pm

I've been diagnosed with depression and anxiety since middle school and now I'm a sophomore at high school and none of my friends know. I want to tell them because I don't really have anyone to talk to about this to. I've stopped going to therapy, I don't talk to my dad, and even though it's been 2 years and I've tried countless times to talk to her about this, my mom just gets way to uncomfortable about the topic. I don't want to go back to therapy though, I don't want someone to fix my problems. I think I just want some reassurance like "yeah, you're right, that sucks. But your not crazy for thinking that". It just gets a bit rough when feeling all these things but have to keep it all to myself even though it's become a big part of my life. But I don't want it to seem like I'm dumping all my emotional baggage on my friends because it's not just the depression, it's the anxiety, the panic attacks, the attempted suicide, the family issues, the loneliness, etc. It's not just the mental illness, it's all the other stuff too you know? Should I limit how much I say? Would saying everything be too much? Would telling more than just one person seem like I'm looking for attention? It's just that my friends only know the surface stuff, that I'm some artsy kid who dropped out of sports. I want them to know and I don't want to keep hiding it but if it means bringing them down to 'get something off my chest' then I don't want to do it.

Maybethelastday

Re: Should I Tell Them?

Postby Maybethelastday » Fri Feb 07, 2020 11:51 am