I can't stop cutting after six years of cutting.--triggering

Feelings and emotions regarding depression, anxiety and other health issues.

Moderators: windsong, BlueGobi, Moderators, Astrid

sickheart

I can't stop cutting after six years of cutting.--triggering

Postby sickheart » Thu Mar 18, 2010 11:08 pm

I've been cutting for six years. I started when I was 13 years old and I'm 19 now. I've tried to stop so many times. But it's my addiction. It's like I got into it and now I'm stuck with it. It's what I turn to when I'm really depressed, which is most of the time. I've got scars everywhere. On both wrists, my legs and arms. The scars will eventually fade away as best they can, but never completely. And the scars on my heart will never fade at all. At times I feel like a failure at this too, because sometimes the cuts are never deep enough and they don't bleed enough.

I'm surprised my boyfriend is still with me. For how many times he's walked into my apartment and found me laying in the bathroom floor, blood pouring out of my wrists. It hurts him every time. I'm such a bad person for hurting him like that. He deserves better than me but he loves me, so I'm lucky to have him. Almost every time I've cut myself or threatened to, he says he'll leave me next time I do it. But he stays every time. Because he's the best person I've ever met. Sometimes I wonder how it would be the other way around. If he were the depressed cutter, and if I were happy. It would kill me to see him laying in bed with blood stained wrists. I would just want to take all the pain away from him and keep it for myself. I think he feels that way about me. He picks me up off the floor, washes my wrists under the sink and brings me to bed. We cuddle as I cry and tell him how depressed I feel, he listens and tries to comfort me the best he can.