She says I am the reason...

Depression/anxiety may have touched your family, your friends, yourself; what helps you to deal with it? Sharing is caring!

Moderators: windsong, BlueGobi, Moderators, Astrid

secret feelings

She says I am the reason...

Postby secret feelings » Sun Feb 12, 2012 1:22 pm

I am a young manager. I took this job to better provide for my new child and have been having quite a hard time at it, what with the no past experience and virtually no support after what was the most uninformative training session ever.

It was alright though, because a woman whom I trust and used to babysit me when I was a kid works her too. She is 40years old now, still lives at home and has been working here for ten years. She offered to be my assistant manager to help me out.

We decided that we would do our very best for the store but never let our lives be ruined by it, and always understand that this job is an experience for us. Something that will help us grow, not break us. So I thought.

She left on vacation for months. I struggled alone. When she came back, she acted as if she were a mere child and I the grown up. She wouldn't help with anything unless I specifically laid out the plan for her. I never took days off, from two months after my baby was born I was back to work 60hours a week and breaking my spirit to put things in order.

On days when I needed her she would be no where in sight. Days I decided I NEED A BREAK! she too would disappear out of town and the store would be left alone, once there was a power failure and she was unreachable by the staff. I wold leave out simple tasks for her that she would never complete. Often I'd talk to her about it, and I'd get the same reply. You have to tell me what to do better...