I thought I was getting better

Introductions and welcomes.

Moderators: windsong, BlueGobi, Moderators, vince13, Maelstrom, Astrid

Courtz22

I thought I was getting better

Postby Courtz22 » Wed Apr 25, 2018 7:30 am

Hello, forgive my awkward start as I’m new to this page, and well new to the this.
I saw this page and thought it might be a good way to talk about what I’m dealing with and discuss with people going through the same thing.
I’ve struggled with depression for as long as I can remember, easily since the age of 14.
For MANY years I denied it, told myself I was just having a few bad days, or that I knew how to handle it. I don’t know maybe I was handling it.
The last 2 or so years I couldn’t deny it anymore, the bad days were more frequent and the moods were getting worse.
I finally decided to get help, went to my doctor and was given anti depressants, I think that’s when things started to get worse!
I tried to tell my parents, but they are very old fashioned and don’t understand, plus they threw the “what have you got to be depressed about, look at your life” line at me.
I really struggle to talk to my husband as he also suffers extreme anxiety.
15 plus years of dealing with this but it’s only recently I’ve started to think about hurting myself, I lock myself in the bathroom with a blade in my hand and I get closer every time, I go to sleep at night and hope this is the night I won’t wake up.

nightingale77

Re: I thought I was getting better

Postby nightingale77 » Thu Apr 26, 2018 6:21 am