Moderators: windsong, BlueGobi, Moderators, vince13, Maelstrom, Astrid

Sur.B

New and Confused

Postby Sur.B » Fri May 19, 2017 2:15 pm

Hello
This is my first time on a forum.
I'm a ​19year old student.
I used to do very well in school.
When I started college, I also took up a challenging professional course , at which I've been failing and I'm not doing very well in college either. I'm failing because I'm not working hard at all and I don't have any motivation to do so. I've lost interest in everything and I often choose to stay at home, by myself. I don't feel like I deserve to have any kind of happiness. I sleep too much and find myself constantly overthinking everything.
Couple of my friends noticed the changes in me and suggested that I might be depressed. I looked it up online and it seemed to add up. But not all days are bad. I have bad moments, rather than days. The issue is that I don't know for if I'm depressed.

I want to discuss this with my parents because they're worried about my future. I owe them an explanation because I'm still financially dependent on them. But I'm concerned that they won't believe because I've had a history of lying.

I also feel like I've just been careless and lazy in the past two years and that I'm trying to make myself believe that it's because I'm depressed.
And that's why I'm not able to tell my parents.
Because I don't feel like it's true. I feel like I'm lying to myself and that this is just who I am.

Umm... That was a long first post. I hope somebody can provide me any kind of clarity on this. Thanks :)

Eleanor

Re: New and Confused

Postby Eleanor » Mon May 22, 2017 6:03 am