never thought I could feel this way

Shared experiences of life, and the path that has led you to where you are.

Moderators: windsong, BlueGobi, Moderators, Astrid

ryan789

never thought I could feel this way

Postby ryan789 » Tue Apr 13, 2010 8:01 pm

I'm 30, male. My mother died when I was 2. I have 3 older siblings, 6 (brother), 10 (brother), and 13 (sister) years older. My dad was badly injured in a plane crash (he was a small plane pilot) shortly after my mom died. He met my stepmom in the hospital and they married shortly after. Then my dad died when I was 13. My dad did not have a will so my stepmom got everything. My only living older relative was my grandmother on my mom's side. My stepmom kicked my brother out of the house because they were not getting along (he was 19), and my other siblings hated her for that and the fact that she got everything. She raised me until I graduated high school then moved away. I have little to no relationship with anyone in my family. They are so much older and we were not around while I was being raised by my stepmom, and at this point I also have no relationship with my stepmom. I attached to a girlfriend and her family, we were together for 6 years, but finally broke up because I was not ready to get married. That was very hard on me, and I did not finish grad school because of it. I was already talking to another girl at the time, and we started dating a few months later and have been together until recently (nearly 5 years). This girl was much more special to me, but for some reason marriage never seemed right. I wanted so bad for it to be right. There was pressure to get engaged, and I did it thinking me and our relationship would grow to where we would be ready for marriage after that pressure was off. We both have uncomfortable family situations, so we planned on a destination wedding, but never actually made any plans. A couple wedding dates came and went. She was very upset but stayed with me for a few more month