becoming an adult

Shared experiences of life, and the path that has led you to where you are.

Moderators: windsong, BlueGobi, Moderators, Astrid

playskool

becoming an adult

Postby playskool » Mon Feb 01, 2010 5:39 am

Hello! My name is Sloan, and right now I'm a freshman student at ucla, working towards a degree in physiological science. I'm hoping to someday go into a career in veterinary medicine, or teaching. Things with me have always been pretty good, I've been blessed with a wonderful family and amazing friends, but lately I've had this one problem that's challenged me like no other, and sent me down a path that I would never have expected. About a year ago, I was in a relationship with this girl. She was an amazing person--because she was so different from most of the people I knew. She had so many of the qualities that I want to have in girlfriend; she was responsible, level-headed, sensible, and beautiful. But for whatever reason, I didn't feel that much for her. She was such an idealistic fit for me, so I couldn't understand why I felt this way. I hated myself for feeling this way. Could this have been avoided? I know too that I can be pretty neurotic, and I analyze things way too much (ocd from a very young age) and I try to control that. But when I finally began to admit this to myself after a while i was horrified. i mean, I didn't want to string her along and hurt her in the end. I denied this for a while but the truth came out soon. I broke up with her last February. It was actually all very normal, i mean, people do this every day, but for some reason, after a whole year of being apart, i cannot stop thinking about her. It's sent me down such a bad path; I've been at the bottom of the barrel several times during the time we've been apart. I just was not myself. Hobbies, friends and school were not as enjoyable, and I started to feel as though life had no point. I have no idea why this happened. If I didn't feel anything for her, why the hell wou