I’ve never done anything like this before.

Shared experiences of life, and the path that has led you to where you are.

Moderators: windsong, BlueGobi, Moderators, vince13, Maelstrom, Astrid

Douglas33?

I’ve never done anything like this before.

Postby Douglas33? » Thu Aug 16, 2018 3:51 am

It’s been a little over a year now since I first tried to kill myself. I’ve dealt with severe depression and anxiety for most of my life, the first most prevalent episodes occurring right at the inception of puberty. I must have been twelve or so when I resolved myself to suicide. I didn’t mean to fail at killing myself. I chose overdose, I probably shouldn’t mention the specific drug, but I ingested 500 pills in a single sitting and then went to sleep, content to finally die (I was a month from being 20 at this point). I had written suicide notes before, but on my first real attempt, I didn’t write a note or a will or anything of significance. I don’t believe in God or any kind of higher power, I was ready to leave knowing it was simply the end of my existence.

Since then, I’ve started going back to school while struggling to maintain almost full time work. It’s tough, but it’s a cakewalk compared to what is going through my mind at every given point in the day. I’ve become much more pensive since I tried to kill myself, and here over a year later I think I finally realized something pretty crucial. I’ve had the same best friend for thirteen years, I have a very caring brother, and although my biological parents are separated, they each have since remarried and are very active in my life. I realized, though, maybe even just today that I don’t love any of them.