College grad, high-functioning PTSD/Major Depressive, Still feel out of control

Shared experiences of life, and the path that has led you to where you are.

Moderators: windsong, BlueGobi, Moderators, vince13, Maelstrom, Astrid

Outlier

College grad, high-functioning PTSD/Major Depressive, Still feel out of control

Postby Outlier » Sat Jun 24, 2017 12:41 pm

Hi this is my first post here. I've recently been trying to reach out and get help. Part of that includes me sharing my story with other humans.

I turned 27 three days ago. I got my first degree a month ago, and moved to a new city to start my next degree. I graduated with honors and a 3.97 gpa. I plan to be a lawyer by 2022/2023. I'm financially secure and independent, and I may have secured a sales job at a very large musical equipment retail store in America.

Before going to college I played in bands at the semi-professional level. I've done a couple west coast tours and one South-West tour. I've played guitar and bass for over a decade and I've composed 5 studio records and a bunch of solo stuff. That's where my true passion lies, but I was never able to support myself to the point that I could really pursue music as a career and take it to the next level. For me, college was settling for something lesser than my true passion, but it was a very positive experience nonetheless. College taught me how to change my life and develop and internal locus of control (meaning I believe that I am the master of my life and destiny). I believe developing this inner locus of control is one of the first steps for people who have made the decision to do something about their depression. It's so easy for depressed individuals to fall into that trap of feeling helpless to the will of powerful others. That being said, I still struggle intensely. Maybe more than I ever have before.