My concerns

Shared experiences of life, and the path that has led you to where you are.

Moderators: windsong, BlueGobi, Moderators, vince13, Maelstrom, Astrid

Sarah19

My concerns

Postby Sarah19 » Thu Dec 15, 2016 1:53 am

Hi there,

While this is kind of weird for me, I thought it'd be helpful to write my thoughts down and share it with anyone interested, see what comes up.

I'm an International university student in Canada in my second year. I recently transferred from a university in the States and I believe, I've settled. Things were going great in the beginning I was going to all my classes, attending the lectures and focusing on school. I made friends quick and my house is warm.
Somewhere along the way, I just completely loss control. I got nervous sitting in class, and I mean really nervous. I would feel sick and my stomach would feel gassy for some reason. The environment suddenly became so uncomfortable for me. I started to feel this way when I took the shuttle bus to campus. I hated being in a shuttle with so many people and I felt really stressed and anxious whenever someone sat next to me. I started to catch the shuttle at times where there were less people but that would mean I'd get to my classes a little late, but I just couldn't make it there feeling that way. Slowly I couldn't sit comfortably in class, and I started to feel really gassy and scared altogether in my classes. So I'd take an uber and avoid the shuttle. But when I couldn't afford to take an uber everyday, I avoided going to classes in general. I started missing classes. I would be doing the work for every single class, I just couldn't get myself to go there without feeling this overwhelming stress over me.